50th Anniversary EGAS conference

The European Group on Atomic Systems (EGAS) is a division of the European Physical Society. EGAS has held one of the most successful conference series in the field of atomic, molecular, and optical (AMO) physics, annually gathering 200–300 attendees from all over the world. The conference has been continuously organized since 1969 and in 2018, after 41 years, the conference returns to Kraków, Poland.

The 50th conference will be held at the Jagiellonian University from . We expect the jubilee conference to attract large audience and offer talks by the best-recognized experts in the field of AMO physics. The programme will consist of six plenary lectures, eight invited talks, and twenty six contributed talks. Two poster sessions will be also organized. The conference will offer a unique opportunity for the community to interact and exchange ideas, providing chances for new collaborations and strengthening existed ones.

Kraków and the Jagiellonian University

Kraków is located in southern Poland on the Wisła River. It is the second largest city in Poland both with respect to the population and surface area. It is a former capital of Poland, Royal Capital City and necropolis of Polish kings, as well as the capital of Małopolska Region.

Today, Kraków is a modern and developing city and a melting pot where the tradition of indigenous residents is mixed with student's avant-garde. However, thanks to a great number of monuments, excellently preserved in the city's layout, it has never lost its majestic character. At the same time, Kraków is one of the fastest developing hi-tech centers in Europe. This unique mixture of tradition and modernity makes Kraków simply magical.

Jagiellonian University has an ongoing tradition of research in natural sciences. It is the second oldest (after the Charles University of Prague) educational and research institution in Central and Eastern Europe. The Faculty of Physics, Astronomy and Applied Computer Science consists of the Marian Smoluchowski Institute of Physics, the Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Observatory, and Cluster of Departments of Applied Computer Science.